Wednesday, February 15, 2012

The Stanislaski Series by Nora Roberts

Taming Natasha
The first time single-father Spence Kimball set eyes on Natasha Stanislaski, he was floored by her exotic beauty. But the former ballet dancer turned toy shop owner had a fiery temperament that kept men safely at bay.

Sensing a hidden wound, Spence and his little girl joined forces to find a way into her closely guarded heart. For Spence realized he’d do anything to tame Natasha’s fears…and show her how to love. 

Luring a Lady
Nothing in Sydney Hayward’s background of wealth and privilege prepared her to take the helm of her family’s corporation, and her new responsibilities left no room for complications.

Mikhail Stanislaski was definitely a complication. Earthy and entirely masculine, Mikhail came from a world utterly different from her own. But the way she felt when he put his strong, work-hardened hands on her was wreaking havoc with Sydney’s resolve. 

Ever heard in a review that a relationship (or a family) is lacking passion? Yeah the Stanislaskis are not that family. 

These old-school Nora Roberts books are filled with the huge personalities and slightly dramatic story lines that made me love her. Starting with the original 4 siblings and then revisiting the world through a couple of their children, these books are just fantastic. I guess I can't say whether they're 'authentically Ukranian' or not, but for my slightly ignorant self, the Stanislaskis were just stereotypical enough to invoke the vibe of the people they were representing without becoming caricatures.

And the relationships are just as full of emotion. Each pair that comes together has obstacles (personally and professional) to overcome before they can reach their HEA and it's so much fun to read about. Every one of them seems so real from the first page that you can't imagine things turning out any other way - and I don't say that as a criticism. These are stories and characters I return to regularly and I'm never bored when I read them. 

Highly recommended and I'm so glad I have all of them on my shelves.

Overall Feeling - A+

Series - 1) Taming Natasha 2) Luring a Lady 3) Falling for Rachel 4) Convincing Alex 5) Waiting for Nick 6) Considering Kate